News Releases

Find the latest news and financial results from Farm Credit Services of America.


Media & Communications Inquiries

Contact our Marketing and Public Relations Team

Farm Credit Services of America Awards Forty-Four $1,000 Scholarships


Media & Communications Inquiries

Judith Nygren Corporate Communications & Public Relations Specialist
Phone: 402-348-3346


Omaha, Nebraska – (September 12, 2013) – Farm Credit Services of America (FCSAmerica) has awarded forty-four $1,000 scholarships to students attending community colleges and vocational schools in Iowa, Nebraska, South Dakota and Wyoming for the 2013-2014 academic year.

Sophomore students receiving the scholarships must be enrolled in agricultural coursework with an emphasis in areas such as agribusiness, range management, animal science, agriculture economics, production agriculture, veterinary tech and mechanics in the 2013-2014 academic year.

The scholarships are worth $1,000 each and paid $500 for the fall semester and $500 for the spring semester. Each college awards two FCSAmerica scholarships and those colleges who have students receiving the scholarships include:

Casper College - Casper, WY

Central Wyoming College - Riverton, WY

Northwest College – Powell, WY

Eastern Wyoming College – Torrington, WY

Laramie County Community College – Cheyenne, WY

Sheridan County College – Sheridan, WY

Southeast Community College – Beatrice, NE

Chadron State College – Chadron, NE

Nebraska College of Technical Ag – Curtis, NE

Northeast Community College – Norfolk, NE

Lake Area Technical College – Watertown, SD

Mitchell Technical Institute – Mitchell, SD

Des Moines Area Community College – Des Moines, IA

Iowa Lakes Community College – Spirit Lake, IA

Iowa Central Community College – Fort Dodge, IA

Iowa Western Community College – Council Bluffs, IA

Kirkwood Community College - Cedar Rapids, IA

Northeast Iowa Community College – Dubuque, IA

Western Iowa Tech – Sioux City, IA

Dordt College – Sioux Center, IA

Muscatine Community College – Muscatine, IA

North Iowa Area Community College – Mason City, IA

Eligibility for the 2013-2014 scholarship program is that candidates must be a traditional (age 18-22) full-time sophomore student enrolled in agricultural coursework in the 2013-2014 year, possess a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0, have permanent residence in Nebraska, Iowa, South Dakota or Wyoming, and have an agriculture background or work-related experience in agriculture.

About Farm Credit Services of America

Farm Credit Services of America is a customer-owned financial cooperative proud to finance the growth of rural America, including the special needs of young and beginning producers. With more than $19 billion in assets and more than $3 billion in members’ equity, FCSAmerica is one of the region’s leading providers of credit and insurance services to farmers, ranchers, agribusiness and rural residents in Iowa, Nebraska, South Dakota and Wyoming. Learn more at