News Releases

Find the latest news and financial results from Farm Credit Services of America.


Media & Communications Inquiries

Contact our Marketing and Public Relations Team

Farm Credit Services of America Awards Twenty-two Scholarships for the 2012-2013 Year


Media & Communications Inquiries

Judith Nygren Corporate Communications & Public Relations Specialist
Phone: 402-348-3346


Omaha, Nebraska – (September 14, 2012) – Farm Credit Services of America (FCSAmerica) has awarded twenty-two $500 scholarships to students attending community colleges and vocational schools in Iowa, Nebraska, South Dakota and Wyoming for the 2012-2013 academic year. 

“Providing scholarships is a way to invest in the next generation of agriculture leaders,” said Doug Stark, president and CEO. “Our goal is to continue our strong support for local communities by providing broader agriculture education opportunities for a larger number of young adults.”

Sophomore students receiving the scholarships must be enrolled in agricultural coursework with an emphasis in areas such as agribusiness, range management, animal science, agriculture economics, production agriculture, veterinary tech and mechanics in the 2012-2013 academic year.

The scholarships are worth $500 each and paid $250 for the fall semester and $250 for the spring semester. Those colleges who have students receiving the FCSAmerica scholarships include:

Casper College - Casper, WY

Central Wyoming College - Riverton, WY

Northwest College – Powell, WY

Eastern Wyoming College – Torrington, WY

Laramie County Community College – Cheyenne, WY

Sheridan County College – Sheridan, WY

Southeast Community College – Beatrice, NE

Chadron State College – Chadron, NE

Nebraska College of Technical Ag – Curtis, NE

Northeast Community College – Norfolk, NE

Lake Area Technical College – Watertown, SD

Mitchell Technical Institute – Mitchell, SD

Des Moines Area Community College – Des Moines, IA

Iowa Lakes Community College – Spirit Lake, IA

Iowa Central Community College – Fort Dodge, IA

Iowa Western Community College – Council Bluffs, IA

Kirkwood Community College - Cedar Rapids, IA

Northeast Iowa Community College – Dubuque, IA

Western Iowa Tech – Sioux City, IA

Dordt College – Sioux Center, IA

Muscatine Community College – Muscatine, IA

Eastern Iowa Community College – Muscatine, IA

North Iowa Area Community College – Mason City, IA

Eligibility for the 2012-2013 scholarship program is that candidates must be a traditional (age 18-22) full-time sophomore student enrolled in agricultural coursework in the 2012-2013 year, possess a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0, have permanent residence in Nebraska, Iowa, South Dakota or Wyoming, and have an agriculture background or work-related experience in agriculture.

About Farm Credit Services of America

Farm Credit Services of America is proud to finance the growth of rural America, including the special needs of young and beginning producers. With more than $17 billion in assets, FCSAmerica is one of the region’s leading providers of credit and insurance services to farmers, ranchers, agribusiness and rural residents in Iowa, Nebraska, South Dakota and Wyoming. Learn more at